Week 41

I GOT THE JOB!!!! Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!! Ah, dear Reader, I cannot explain how wonderful this job is. It is exactly what I want to do (working in the public health sector with children and adolescents) and they are already treating me so well – even offering to keep an ear out for jobs for Husband. Have you ever?? To say that we are thrilled is an understatement 😀 The other joy is that with getting a job we now have a much better idea of where and when we are going and so can plan our lives accordingly. The one negative though is that it looks like it will be 4 months before we get a salary coming in again… so thank goodness for our fuck-you-money that we have saved up in the last year – it’s so liberating to have peace of mind that we will be ok 🙂

This last week has seen a rev up in farewells (see all the beautiful flowers I got?!). We also had our friends staying with us and we spent a LOT of money treating them to meals out to introduce them to Korean food… but overall I think that we did ok…. Cannot believe that this was our second-to-last week in Korea!

To new readers of The Brat Experiment: Husband and I track every single Korean won that we spend (we’re currently living in South Korea) on a fantastic app called Money Lover. The app is synched to both of our phones and means that it’s very easy to see where all of our money goes (which is not always pleasant!). I then report on our weekly spending here and write up a summary of our spending for each month. You can check out other weekly spends and the monthly summaries in The Numbers section.

Total Explained…
Week 41 442 590 won
Groceries 75 620 won Nothing out of the ordinary. Although we did learn that I shouldn’t go grocery shopping after going to the dentist… it results in me buying almost nothing but chocolate – haha!
Eat Out 196 800 won This is a LOT. We ate out every night we had our friends with us and we usually paid. We feel happy with this though – we really wanted to introduce our friends to the best Korea has to offer 🙂
Clothes 63 200 won Husband bought shoes…
Alcohol 4 000 won Beer from a Family Mart…
Once-Off 51 170 won I got a haircut and bought makeup. I’m not a makeup person but the Korean makeup is AMAZING – I had to stock up 😀
Bills & Fees 0 won
Transport 23 700 won Mostly necessary taxis…
Gifts 10 000 won Valentine’s day 😀
Medical 18 100 won I went to the dentist. Got to take advantage of the great Korean healthcare system!
Local Travel 0 won
Overseas Travel 0 won
Christmas 0 won

Week 41 total: 442 590 won

Necessary: 191 180 won (43%)

Indulgence: 251 410 won (57%)

Ok that ratio of necessary vs indulgence is not awesome… But let’s not panic just yet! Let’s first see how it all fits into our plan for the month:

week-41a

To be honest, dear Reader, I’m not actually sure how I feel about the fact that we have 392 257 won left to live on for the rest of this month (until Friday). My instinct is that it isn’t enough… But I’m not sure why… I am worried that our shipping is going to be more that our budget 200 000 won. We also still have both our cellphones and the gas bill coming. Plus we will be spending extra settling all our accounts before we leave. Then there are the bus tickets to Seoul… Although we have budgeted money for the weekend (that’s coming out of our February salary)… So actually maybe it’s all fine. Maybe this is just the usual anxiety that comes with packing up your life and starting anew in a new country?

img_4116-editted

Me singing (solo!) at our school’s end of year dinner. I was called up to the front and so naturally I forgot EVERY English song ever written… All that I could think of was the South African national anthem so that’s what I went with… with gusto! 🙂 No one understood a word but everyone clapped, cheered and danced me on beautifully ❤ 

Xxx

Leave a Reply

