Week 33

img_3631

Stunning view on the walk home last week 🙂

To my shock, my numbers post last week got two likes. I couldn’t believe it! I had come to the conclusion that no one actually reads these posts. But I kept at them because I’m hoping that they will be helpful to people (even if it’s just a singular some one!) who want(s) an idea of expenses in Korea… Also, I know that this weekly blog post has kept me accountable for our expenses. Basically without the pressure of my “dear Reader” waiting for these posts, I think that I’d quickly stop doing them. So to the two dear Readers who actually liked my post last week, thank you 🙂 It’s wonderful to know that real-live-humans (as opposed to the anonymous dear Readers in my head!) appreciated it 🙂

To new readers of The Brat Experiment: Husband and I track every single won that we spend on a fantastic app called Money Lover. The app is synched to both of our phones and means that it’s very easy to see where all of our money goes (which is not always pleasant!). I then report on our weekly spending here and write up a summary of our spending for each month. You can check out other weekly spends and the monthly summaries in The Numbers section.

week-33a

Week’s total: 609 260 won

Necessary: 484 960 won (80%)

Indulgence: 124 300 won (20%)

If we take out our Christmas spend we spent 357 140 won 🙂 Which is better than I was expecting…

img_3636

My first ever delicious seaweed soup (which was service with the samgypsal). I thought I didn’t like seaweed soup but this was amazing! 🙂

img_3643

I painted my nails at work last week… this is the state of how little I have to do at work…

So now let’s look at how our plan is going:

 

Plan for Month 8 Week 31 + 32 Spend This week’s spend 🙂
2 external hard drives for 260 000 won Done 🙂 Done 🙂
Christmas for 200 000 won 159 510 won 252 120 won – 175 000 won (that’s coming out the ski fund) = 77 120 won
2 ski trips Internal Thailand flights and a Kindle for 400 000 won 172 059 won 175 000 won
Live off 1 800 000 won 1 024 370 won 357 140 won

So this is where we are for sitting for the rest of this month (the end of the week!):

  • Live off 418 490 won
  • Christmas budget of – 36 630 won. Eish.
  • Internal Thailand flights and Kindle both purchased 🙂 AND with a surplus in the budget of 52 941. Yay! The extra can go to the Christmas budget 🙂
  • Save 51%

So we seem on track to save the 51% we were hoping – yay! I feel great about still having over 400 000 won for this week leading up to Christmas. I think we will try to be as cheap as possible during the week and then hopefully survive the Christmas weekend without having to dip into next month’s salary (we will get paid on the Friday because payday is on the weekend).

So, dear Reader, I hope that you have the MOST wonderful, wonderful Christmas. Christmas is my favourite, makes-everything-fuzzy-with-love-and-happiness holiday. For me it’s about family all being together, chocolates pinned to the Christmas tree my Mom and I made, fresh mangoes and litchis (remember Christmas is in summer in South Africa!), swimming, Christmas carols, board games and camping. This year will be a very different Christmas for me: Northern Hemisphere winter (and hopefully snow!) and a distinct lack of technical family… but thank goodness we will be with family that we have chosen (friends), there will still be chocolates by the millions, board games, fantastic food, Christmas carols and the fuzzy-with-love-and-happiness feeling that I associate with Christmas 🙂 So here is hoping that yours is just as wonderful, dear Reader ❤ (And if you don’t do Christmas, dear Reader, then I wish you a beautiful weekend of family love anyway!!)

Xxx

P.S. Look! We had our first snow last week!! The child in me was STOKED 😀

Leave a Reply

